19-game HU Challenge – Part 2: LHE + win free coaching

Ok, second part, my main game, cannot lose this one, can I? It’s not really a secret that I chose this to get the mental advantage back by whitewashing jb, but I can tell you, it didn’t go as well as I wanted to, also I didn’t play as well as I wanted to (the Q hi bet/call on the river is probably the fishiest move of December).

So since it’s my main game, and I’m in a good mood today (which was one of my best days poker-wise in the year), I want to give you a little bit of something. So I’m going to ask a question, and one of you, whose answer I like the best, will get a free 2-hour coaching session from me (LHE only, not necessarily HU). The question is: at the QJo hand a little after 16:00 would you bet or check the river, and why. I’ll reward the best reasoning (regardless of what my idea of the better play is). Please post your answers in the comments, I’ll choose the best answer on Sunday (January 6), and contact the winner by e-mail.

So, here’s the vid, enjoy!

9 thoughts on “19-game HU Challenge – Part 2: LHE + win free coaching

  1. I have no clue how to play FLHE. Easily my worst game. Having said that, I really want to learn something about it now. How can I know where I am in my range in any given spot when I have no idea what my range is?? It’s a conundrum for sure. More draw and no limit games please!

    • So, I don’t know how serious you are about learning FLHE, but my idea would be:
      1.- Stoxtrader book: quite dated, but it talks a bit about different standard line and exploitative play. I like particularly his discussion on preflop ranges (although I am still quite unsure of the 3betting ranges)
      2.- Divert a bit the pure FLHE and (if you haven’t) read The Mathematics of Poker. I love that book, and its discussion about Optimal Play is key to understand:

      3.- The Intelligent Poker Player. A masterpiece in my opinion. Unlike Stox’s book, or any other, its approach to poker is so core-wise, it won’t get dated. I mean, it will get old, but it will be useful anyway.

      And if you were not serious, just keep crushing the tables!

      • I seriously want to learn FLHE, but sadly I seriously don’t have the time to do it properly at the moment. The Stoxtrader book was already on my Amazon wishlist, so I can get that for my birthday in March, I have read MoP, and I got TIPP for Xmas and have skimmed through it. Maybe once my book is finished I will have a crack at FLHE. :^)

  2. The check raise on the turn could be a flush draw or a straight draw, which is not likely to call your
    river bet. If the turn check raise is a made straight you will always be met on the river with a raise, which you problably will call since the raise could be a busted straight or flush draw getting fancy on the river (and we all know that JB is a fancy player :-) A top pair will never fold so you will at least be called if not raised on the river. Hence i would go for a check – call. Since i only play 1-2, 2-4 full ring flhe and some 0.5-1 6-max, my check call on the river is problably the reason why i should stick to 10-max :-). Brgds deralte71

  3. I would check behind. Already on 2 occaisions he has checked the river with TPGK. The CR on the turn suggests to me that that he hit the K-any other hands would have put in more action on the flop as I doubt JB knows the “standard line” call flop/raise turn.

  4. Sorry Madorjan, apparantly i’m still not quite awake from new years eve. In poss. the valuebet makes more sence to me, but i still think i would check behind. It could be that JB was reraising with a 5 or 10 or possibly a Queen with a bad kicker, but i think more often JB will either have missed his straight and/or flush draw which would fold the river to yr bet, have k-x, which together with a straight or two pairs could mean a reraise and a tough decision. Heads up the decision also have to be based on history as Paul excellently points out.

  5. OK, so my first thought is: I would check back the river, since his x/r looks like a K or a 5 (maybe a T) with a backdoor draw that just came in. If he is capable of a river bluff raise with those unimproved backdoors (i don’t think so, though!) and a call with K, you’ll be in a hard spot. Getting deeper…

    I think his flop peeling range is T9-, any 5, backdoor straight and flush draws and a couple of high cards (what matters the most in my opinion here is taking away his check/raise range) . For his turn raise range, I’d put that range I said (it would look something like this: http://img694.imageshack.us/img694/619/turnrange.png )

    Now, his check looks like: check/fold (unimproved draws), check/call (little showdown value vs bluffs), check/raise for value (again, highly unlikely, since he has the best range perceived between you two, and I think he’d bet for value those hands!).

    Given that, I will consider he’ll only x/f or x/c. You won’t make better hands fold, for sure, so the question is if do you have enough value vs his calling range. Giving him a lose call range, he’d call any pair that was in his original river range (except for K9+, which he would probably bet). So he would call:

    K8- (no K3!): ~ 60 combos
    Any T with busted draws: ~20 combos
    Any 5 with busted draws: ~10 combos

    So, that being said, I don’t think you have a value bet against his expanded calling range (I don’t think if calling a 5 in this board is good enough)

  6. Ok, folks, promo over, I think the clear winner is “Hey there!” here, since he was the only one who said anything about combos or equity, or not just reason with pure logic, but by numbers as well. So well done, I’ll contact you via Skype.

Leave a Reply

